COVID-19 response

The Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD) continues to work closely with industry, government and regional stakeholders to provide support and information during the COVID-19 response.

Note. this page may change as new information becomes available on COVID-19.

Stay up-to-date with the latest information on the WA Government website.

Information and support


COVID-19 - WA travel restrictions

Information for primary industries and details the restrictions into and within Western Australia to help protect the community from the COVID-19 pandemic.

COVID-19 – securing labour supply

Information on the temporary changes to Australian visa arrangements and additional WA safeguards being put in place to secure labour supply during COVID-19.

COVID-19 and your business

Information and resources to support your business during COVID-19.

COVID-19 and WA's grains industry

Resources and references to support WA’s grain growers during COVID-19.


Protecting our industry, community and staff

To support the COVID-19 response, the department is liaising with and gathering intelligence from key stakeholders involved in WA’s primary production and food supply chain, including Regional Development Commissions, State Government agencies, peak industry bodies and the food processing sector to:

  • prepare WA businesses
  • support business continuity measures
  • reduce potential impacts of COVID-19
  • plan for a return to business as usual once the crisis has passed.

Online forums across sectors are being held to provide an opportunity for two-way communication between government and our key industry stakeholders. These forums provide live intel about what’s going on for businesses across WA’s primary industries, while also allowing DPIRD to advise on any new details on COVID-19 measures from a government perspective.

Sector leads and key DPIRD contacts

If you have a query in relation to a specific area, please contact:

Grains Kerry Regan kerry.regan@dpird.wa.gov.au
Livestock Bruce Mullan bruce.mullan@dpird.wa.gov.au
Horticulture Rohan Prince rohan.prince@dpird.wa.gov.au
Food Supply Continuity Deborah Pett deborah.pett@dpird.wa.gov.au
Fisheries & Aquaculture Nathan Harrison nathan.harrison@dpird.wa.gov.au
Agrifood Industry Continuity & Support Susan Hall susan.hall@dpird.wa.gov.au
Trade and Freight Joan Lim joan.lim@dpird.wa.gov.au
Labour Jackie Jarvis jackie.jarvis@dpird.wa.gov.au
Border-related enquiries Bruno Mezzatesta bruno.mezzatesta@dpird.wa.gov.au
COVID-19 Primary Industry Stakeholders Karen Barlow karen.barlow@dpird.wa.gov.au

 

In order to protect the health and wellbeing of our staff, DPIRD is adopting State and Federal health recommendations with respect to social distancing and good hygiene. We are also putting plans in place to ensure our business continuity.


More information

For more information and support during COVID-19, please visit the below: